Super over will now be repeated until one team scores more runs in new rule change


ICC announce super over will now be repeated until one team scores more runs in new rule change… meaning England’s Cricket World Cup final victory over New Zealand would not have counted

England’s dramatic super over victory in the Cricket World Cup final has led to a rule change, announced by the ICC on Monday.

Eoin Morgan’s men lifted the global tournament for the first time on boundary count after tieing the super over against New Zealand at Lord’s in July.

The rule change now means that in the event of a tie it will be repeated until one team scores more runs than the other.

Had that been in place this summer then England’s clash with the Kiwis would have gone to a second round of sudden death.

Cricket’s world governing body have announced it will come into effect in the semi-finals and finals of all ICC events. 

England's dramatic super over victory in the Cricket World Cup final has led to a rule change

England’s dramatic super over victory in the Cricket World Cup final has led to a rule change

England tied the final against New Zealand but were awarded victory on boundary count

England tied the final against New Zealand but were awarded victory on boundary count



Source link

قالب وردپرس

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish